Question: Why do alerts in the Dialog Alerts Tool Inactive Alerts folder remain for 4 years?
Answer: Originally, alerts in the Inactive Alerts folder remained for 180 days prior to automatically moving to the Deleted Alerts folder.
However, this has now been increased to 4 years for pharmacovigilance (PV) auditing purposes, that require up to a 4 year lookback.
So, all alerts that have an expiration date will automatically move to the Inactive Alerts folder the day after the expiration date and stay there for 4 years.
After this date they are then automatically moved to the Deleted Alerts folder and subsequently deleted (unless the alert owner manually deletes them earlier) permanently from the Dialog platform.