Question:  Why do alerts in the Dialog Alerts Tool Inactive Alerts folder remain for 4 years?

Answer:  Originally, alerts in the Inactive Alerts folder remained for 180 days prior to automatically moving to the Deleted Alerts folder.

However, this has now been increased to 4 years for pharmacovigilance (PV) auditing purposes, that require up to a 4 year lookback. 


So, all alerts that have an expiration date will automatically move to the Inactive Alerts folder the day after the expiration date and stay there for 4 years.

After this date they are then automatically moved to the Deleted Alerts folder and subsequently deleted (unless the alert owner manually deletes them earlier) permanently from the Dialog platform.