Question: What is the difference between Dialog Alerts Tool Active Alerts, Inactive Alerts and Deleted Alerts folders?


Answer:  The Dialog Alerts tool has three distinct folders for alerts: Active Alerts; Inactive Alerts & Deleted Alerts, and these are described below:

Active Alerts: This folder is the default folder for all alerts that are currently running on the Dialog platform and is also the landing page for when the Dialog Alerts tool is accessed.

Inactive Alerts:  This folder contains all alerts that have been made inactive. Inactive is defined as alerts that are no longer running and collecting records. However, they have not been deleted from the Dialog platform.

Users can make an alert inactive by entering an expiration date into the alert setting.
When an alert is made inactive, it will reside in the Inactive Alerts folder for 4 years, until automatically moving to the deleted Alerts folder.

Although an alert is residing in the Inactive Alerts folder, a user can easily reactivate or delete an alert by selecting either of the two Reactivate or Delete alert buttons present


Deleted Alerts:  This folder contains all alerts that have been marked for deletion. Alerts in this folder remain here for a minimum of 30 days prior to being deleted permanently from the Dialog platform.

Any time during this period, an alert can be reactivated by selecting the Reactivate button. Once activated, the alert will recommence running and collecting records as before deletion.